My intuition failed

handmade-791693_960_720Last night, when I was planning one my classes for today, I stumbled upon an interesting text which I thought I could use with a group of 15-year-olds. The material I was originally looking for was ‘Typical problems of teenagers’. In the text I found, ten most common problems were listed, such as bullying, depression, education, etc., along with the solutions parents or teachers usually come up with when dealing with the problems.  It was a bit challenging language-wise but since these are very talented students, I wasn’t worried about that at all.

What worried me a bit though was the fact that one of the topics included in the article was ‘menstruation’. I should add that I’m definitely not the type of person who finds it difficult or embarrassing to talk about these issues with teenagers. Also, there is a majority of girls in this group and even the boys are quite open-minded but still …  For some reason, I wasn’t sure if it was totally appropriate. Long story short, I cut this particular topic out when preparing the reading activity and we finally ended up with just 9 topics.

Before I handed out the texts, we did a brainstorming activity. I asked the group about some typical problems teenagers face these days. To my utter amazement, the very first idea which I elicited was ‘We girls have periods’. I couldn’t believe my ears. The only topic I hadn’t been sure about and the one I had finally got rid of came up first. What also surprised me was that many of the serious topics listed in the text, such as substance abuse or bullying, didn’t occur to the students at all during the eliciting stage. In the end, I felt it was a shame that the topic of menstruation was not included.

Anyway, this anecdote reminded me of PARSNIPS – the seven taboo topics in English language teaching. You can’t always rely on your intuition or the fact that you’ve known your students for ages. You simply never know what’s palatable for them until you ask. But even asking may sometimes be a risky business and it can cause some unnecessary embarrassment. On the other hand, if your students feel absolutely safe in your class, you can afford to take the risk. I remember once asking the same group of students if there was a moment in their lives when they felt absolutely happy. One student put up his hand and said: Yes, I can clearly remember that. I obviously asked a follow-up question: Can you tell us about it? I was taken aback by his resolute but very mature response: Sorry, it’s too personal. Well, believe it or not, even 15-year-olds can sometimes behave like grown-ups. 🙂

About Hana Tichá

I'm an EFL teacher based in the Czech Republic. I've been teaching English to learners of all ages for more than 20 years. I love metaphors and inspiring discussions concerning teaching, learning and linguistics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My intuition failed

  1. Would you be willing to share the link to that text? I think it sounds like a useful resource. I don’t have any learners who are still at school at the moment, but when I did, I always thought more carefully about what would be appropriate and tended to be much more cautious than I am with my adult learners, which probably isn’t fair, when you consider what they cover at school.

    Like

  2. It isn’t always easy creating that environment where students feel safe, but it sure pays off, doesn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: When the soup is not thick enough. | How I see it now

Leave a Reply

