Is this bloggable?

I recently came across a word that instantly grabbed my attention; it was used in an article called Connected Development – Why blogging still matters, where David Dodgson talks about bloggable moments. I don’t think I’d ever used or even seen the expression before so I assumed at first that it must be one of those neologisms, like blogosphere or googleable.

Výstřižek.PNG

The fact that I found no entry for bloggable in the Online Etymology Dictionary confirmed my assumption that it’s a newly coined word and I decided to explore it a little further on the internet – the place of its birth. I stumbled upon this blog conveniently called My Bloggable Day. On the author’s About page, I ran across the following line:

I decided to make every day ‘bloggable’ or worthy of a blog post.

Out of context, the sentence looks a little ambiguous to me; does it mean that the author decided to live each day in a way that it would then be worth blogging about or did she decide to look for something blogworthy in the days lived? In other words, does she believe there’s always something bloggable (read: worth appreciating) about our everyday moments – we just need to see/look for it?

Like David Dodgson, Sydney Salter uses the expression bloggable moments in her book called Swoon at Your Own Risk:

Výstřižek

And on this website, the author teaches us how to recognize bloggable moments by putting on super-hero blogging glasses that allow you to see your world in a new way.

Well, it seems I’ve just discovered something that’s been around for a while – the online world is full of little bloggable moments.

It may well happen that the word bloggable will soon be used in a figurative sense, i. e. it will become synonymous with amazing, such as in “Oh, what a bloggable party!”

>>>>>>

As I considered the linguistic aspects of bloggable, it occurred to me how easy it is in English to derive a new expression from an existing one. If I wanted to translate bloggable into Czech, there’s no one-word equivalent for it. I’d have to circumscribe it using many words and the shortest chunk would probably be worth writing an article for my blog.

It’s also interesting to look at the way new words are derived. By coincidence, I read this tweet by Nathan Hall:

Výstřižek

A thought-provoking question, I thought. I’d add that not only verbs are regular but also newly derived adjectives seem to behave in a very ‘regular’ way. Regarding spelling, it could have been blogable (with jus one ‘g’), right? But it’s not due to the CVC patternIn a similar vein, if I wanted to make a comparative adjective, I’d say more bloggable, because it’s a three-syllable adjective.

At least, there’s some comforting regularity in this volatile world where linguistic inventions threaten the comfort of a conservative language user.

 

About Hana Tichá

I'm an EFL teacher based in the Czech Republic. I've been teaching English to learners of all ages for more than 20 years. I love metaphors and inspiring discussions concerning teaching, learning and linguistics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

