A message that made my day

20160717_181713Do you sometimes have those moments in your career when you feel you are no good? And then, when you finally surrender to the fact that you will probably never get in return what you think you deserve, something unexpected happens – something that brings all the hope back again. This is the moment when you realize that not only do you always get in return all the energy you have invested in teaching and loving your students, but you get all the recognition you’ve desperately longed for.

I’m proud to share a message I recently got from a former student of mine. Although he was always a true pleasure to work with, his kind words came to me as a real surprise.

VýstřižekVýstřižek3

 

What I appreciated most about this particular student was his amazing ability of self-reflection; when something went wrong, he immediately took full responsibility. I’m stressing this because I’ve observed that those who always criticize others for their own failures are those who rarely acknowledge the help of others when they succeed. This is one of the reasons why his words are so dear to me.

 

 

About Hana Tichá

I'm an EFL teacher based in the Czech Republic. I've been teaching English to learners of all ages for more than 20 years. I love metaphors and inspiring discussions concerning teaching, learning and linguistics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

