#200

180420141487As this is exactly the 200th post, I’ve decided to do a bit of revision. My regular readers know that the majority of my posts are nerdy reflections on my teaching and learning experiences, but now and then, when I’m in the professional mode, I come up with a practical post to share my teaching/learning tips. Today, to celebrate my little anniversary, I’m going to share a list of posts that I think fall into this ‘practical’ category.

Such a list serves two purposes: it may be useful for teachers out there, but it will also help me see clearly where my main interest lies and which areas I like writing about most.  I don’t know yet what conclusions I’m going to draw from the discovery. One thing is certain, though – the post was inspired by Joanna Malefaki’s interview with Phil Wade, in which he describes the process of publishing an e-book. It suddenly occurred to me that being a passionate blogger, I may well try to publish something longer than a blog post some day (a pdf would do, for starters). Some day …

For easier navigation, I divided the posts into several categories. Feel free to click any of the links now or later on, or just look back along with me.

Speaking: 

The best game ever

Observing class in retrospect

Writing: 

Hemingway or Woolf?

A yet to be piloted lesson plan

Through writing towards L2 development 

Readability tools as a way to improve writing

Collaborative writing:

Writing micro-stories in tandem 

One for all, all for one – collaborative games in ELT 

Dare them – one chapter each 

Reading: 

Parallel text reading resources – a tip for a Christmas gift 

Listening:

Dictation – Yes? No? Why? 

Grammar: 

Revisit and idea and reinvent a wheel 

Practising grammar via creative writing 

Go light!

Vocabulary:

Repetition and recycling 

Teaching idioms (lesson plan) 

Games and activities: 

Game over 

Google fight

New year’s resolution – lesson plan 

Using realia:

The story behind the chip card

Using corpora: 

Making lessons authentic via the use of corpora

Using corpora in class – the simple way 

Czenglish or interlanguage?

Pronunciation:

Shadow reading experiment 

Creativity:

Rose is a rose: poetry in L2 classroom

Using self-made videos in class 

A boring textbook exercise? Turn it to your advantage! 

How to make a Halloween mini-golf course 

Dust off your violin (lesson plan) 

Feedback: 

Collective feedback on written assignments

On Creativity, law and order 

Classroom management:

CCQs and ICQs – a mental exercise

Dogme just happened

Technology: 

Integrate technology effectively 

About Hana Tichá

I'm an EFL teacher based in the Czech Republic. I've been teaching English to learners of all ages for more than 20 years. I love metaphors and inspiring discussions concerning teaching, learning and linguistics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to #200

  1. Zhenya says:

    Happy 200th post Hana – and thank you for organizing the earlier ones so clearly – it definitely helps me (your devoted reader) to navigate, recall, review the ideas you have been sharing. Your blog is simply wonderful on many levels: for new teachers, for experienced ones, for trainers (new and ‘old’) and even for people who are outside our ELT universe. Keep writing and sharing – many many thanks for the work you are doing!
    Zhenya 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hana Tichá says:

      Dear Zhenya,

      You know what to say to make one’s day 🙂 I really appreciate your kind words. Thanks for being a devoted reader of mine and for thinking my blog is useful.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kehfinegan says:

    I’m looking forward to reading these posts. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kehfinegan says:

    and congratulations!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mikecorea says:

    Just to say congrats on 200!
    I appreciate this post though I think I have read all the posts anyway! 🙂
    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and “nerdy reflections on my teaching and learning experience” as well as practical tips.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hana Tichá says:

      Thank you very much, Mike. I’m eternally grateful to you for being so supportive and helpful. My blog would never be what it is without your generosity and encouragement.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ljiljana havran says:

    Congrats on your 200th post, Hana!
    This is a really wonderful list of posts.
    Thanks a lot for the enjoyment while reading your reflections on teaching & learning, and for your interesting ideas.
    Looking forward to your new great/inspiring posts. 🙂

    Like

  6. careymicaela says:

    Congratulations on your 200th post! Here’s to another 200 inspiring posts! 🙂

    Like

  7. Congrats on the milestone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sandy Millin says:

    Congratulations on reaching 200, and I’m really looking forward to reading the next 200 or more. Thanks for putting together this list – it serves as a great gateway to your ever excellent blog 🙂
    Long may you continue writing!
    Sandy

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joanna Malefaki says:

    Happy 200 dear Hana!
    I ❤ your blog. Looking forward to your next posts!
    Joanna

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

